New to Mac, need advice

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
What kinds of applications would you guys recommend i get for my macbook pro 13"?

I am new to mac and would like some advice from people who know their way around the block.

I am a finance person so any applications related to that would be of great appreciation.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    Excel is available for Mac.

Apple has a spreadsheet called Numbers as part of iWork. While a bargain, it might or might not be a little light weight for you. I would recommend iWork anyways as Pages is pretty sweet and Keynote blows Powerpoint away.

http://www.apple.com/iwork/
  • Reply 2 of 9
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by turbo2g2003 View Post

What kinds of applications would you guys recommend i get for my macbook pro 13"?

I am new to mac and would like some advice from people who know their way around the block.

I am a finance person so any applications related to that would be of great appreciation.

To say that you are a "finance person" is not terribly specific. What is it that you do? What is it that you would like to do with your Mac?
  • Reply 3 of 9
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mr. Me View Post

To say that you are a "finance person" is not terribly specific. What is it that you do? What is it that you would like to do with your Mac?

I'm in investing, and capital markets. So anything related to investing would be great!
  • Reply 4 of 9
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by turbo2g2003 View Post

I'm in investing, and capital markets. So anything related to investing would be great!

Have a look here for OSX-native apps.

But don't forget you can run any Windows or Linux app on your Mac too. Either natively in BootCamp, or in a virtual machine (Parallels, VMware Fusion, VirtualBox [FREE]), or in Crossover (FREE, no Windows necessary; but doesn't work with all apps).