Thinking of buying a Macbook Air

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I am having a bit of trouble deciding what to buy.

I am a university student, so I switch frequently between classes. Portability is one of my priorities, so I am leaning toward the Air with the ff. specs:

2.13 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor

Nvidia 9400M Graphics Processor

128GB Solid State Drive

2GB RAM

I have the following concerns:

1. I will be creating the occasional video every now and then (sometimes it's needed for school), so will the system be able to handle that? It's just light editing and I don't mind if it's slow, but can just finish it. I also want to do some gaming, but I'm not too much into that.

2. Is 2GB RAM enough for current processing needs and for the next two years? I don't like doing too much multitasking (makes you less productive.)

3. I do not mind not having an optical drive as I have an external one. Will an LG optical drive work with the Air or do I need to purchase the SuperDrive?

4. Is the screen really better than the one on the MBP 13"?

5. I do not mind the lack of ports.

6. I really prioritize portability, and price is not much of an issue.

7. I might use it on a bed or couch, does it heat up that much?

8. Do rev C MBAs suffer from the hinge problem, and the screen lines problem?

These considerations in place, should I buy a macbook air?

Also, can someone provide a Microsoft OneNote substitute?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 17
    I feel you're set on getting MBA... Yet, I kindly advise you to think over buying MBP instead. Spend the money on processor power and memory, all that comes in handy with video processing.

MBP 13" appears to be sufficiently portable even for minors (unlike MacBook). And I doubt a bit you would be able to tell two absolutely identical screens from one another...
  • Reply 2 of 17