The Granny Factor

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi,

I'm a developer and i don't own a Mac, but i presume many here do, and at this point, i could really use your advice.

We are porting a fat client app (Windows only) for a customer to be able to run it off of a server, but don't have the luxury of keeping it confined to an intranet, since employees need to be able to access it via a secure login while traveling.

And that means we have no control over what machines the web client runs on.

One of those machines could very well be an older Mac, that's received only minimal maintenance, if any at all.

Quite frankly, i have no idea of what Apple's update/support cycle is, and would i need to worry about working around old Safari 2.0 bugs or not.

The customer seems to have a couple of "Grannies" working on their staff, so the challenge is to make it work flawlessly, because those are a pain to deal with.

Let's for the sake of this conversation assume that Granny bought a white iBook in '04 and it's been working without fail

What should i expect to find in terms of software?

Thanks in advance, any help is appreciated.

Dan

P.S. One of the guys on our team has an iPhone, so we've pretty much got that part covered

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    hudson1hudson1 Posts: 800member
    An iBook made in 2004 would have come with OS X 10.3.

I would think it would be a major mistake to insure that your software is compatible with system software that old. Perhaps a more prudent approach would be to insure compatibility with 10.5 and then do what's necessary to get the oldest client hardware up to date and functioning with that OS X release. Apple made enough changes to the underlying OS that compatibility with old system software should be left behind by application developers.

Hope that helps in some small way.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DayRobot View Post

Hi,