iPad not working for my business needs - File system is FUBAR

Posted:
in iPad edited January 2014
Posted this in a different thread but figured I'd post here because that thread was dead a few days:

iWorks does not work for me. I don't see how it would work for anyone that has a large office with several people working together.

I'm an attorney. I have thousands of documents that me and several other attorneys, law clerks and secretaries access.

I want to take ALL my files with me to court or home, so I always have them. So I would like to "dump" them into the iPad periodically.

Yea right! You have to go through each app and manually place the files into the app. Word Documents into Pages, Excel Documents into Numbers, etc.

Nevermind that this is a pain in the ass, but how do I update this? Manually do it every day? Once a week? Start all over again?

Because that's what "it displays the documents it knows about" means. It means you have to "assign" or place documents into the right app manually.

And I don't know how this tagging works so I can see all the documents from one client (or project) at one time, but that sounds like a pain in the ass to do going forward, nevermind going backwards to get everything working.

This isn't a step forward, it's completely ignoring how businesses operate. I can only speak from the legal perspective, but fail Apple. So fail.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 34
    Law school requirements must be really dropping. Your grammar and spelling is not even university level. Good luck getting other lawyers and businesses to take you seriously.

As far as the iPad goes, your best solution would be a VNC client, where you can access your desktop directly from the iPad. If you absolutely need offline access, you're right, a laptop would be better for you.
  • Reply 2 of 34
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tonton View Post