Time Capsule question

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I've been using a Time Capsule for a couple of years now and find it works well--especially with Snow Leopard. One limitation, though, is the fact that I can't easily access backed-up files for one computer from another computer. Is there a reliable 3rd-party fix for this?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by somjay View Post

I've been using a Time Capsule for a couple of years now and find it works well--especially with Snow Leopard. One limitation, though, is the fact that I can't easily access backed-up files for one computer from another computer. Is there a reliable 3rd-party fix for this?

If someone could operate your Mac from his/her computer they ought to be able to pull up any file from your Mac's Time Capsule/Time Machine backup data set(s) and send it anywhere, from your Mac. Including to him/herself, of course.

Well, 'someone' can! Just run (FREE) cross-platform Teamviewer at the same time on your Mac and on that other computer. Exchange ID numbers and passwords and Tada! you can see the other's desktop and work on his/her machine as if you were sitting in front of it.

Got to try this particular thing myself though!

I've run Teamviewer for 2 years on my iMac and MBP, on my mother's iMac, and on my sister's iMac, MBA, and iPhone (and she lives across the Atlantic Ocean...), because I'm their 'helpdesk' and 'sysadmin', but I've never yet tried to access their Time Machine backup data sets remotely. Gotta try it. I see no reason why that wouldn't work with Teamviewer.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    dr millmossdr millmoss Posts: 5,403member
    How is that better than the built-in screen sharing?
  • Reply 3 of 7
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dr Millmoss View Post

How is that better than the built-in screen sharing?