UK Billion vs US Billion: Why the difference?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited April 2015
OK, here in UK a Billion equals

100 Million whereas in the US it

is 1,000 Million. What gives?

US: (10 to Power of)

10 to the 1 = 10

10 to the 2 = 100

10 to the 3 = 1,000 (Thousand)

10 to the 6 = 1,000,000 (Million)

10 to the 9 = 1,000,000,000 (Billion)

UK

10 to the 3 = 1,000

10 to the 6 = 1,000,000 (Million)

10 to the 8 = 100,000,000 (UK Billion)

What gives. I read a newspaper article that said that 30 Billion people around the world will be watching World Cup. I know that the world has 6 Billion but maybe the UK thinks there are 60 Billion.

BTW, I am American living in UK. I get confused when I read that some Company like Vodaphone lost £20 billion pounds.

Now, I studied mathematics ("maths they call it here), and I understood a billion to be 10 to the 9th power, a trillion 10 to the 12th and so on.

Can anyone enlighten my as to why the UK has this "backwards" billion counting system? Its bad enough you Brit drive on the "wrong" side of the road!

Thx!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    marcukmarcuk Posts: 4,442member
    Id guess that is a newspaper typo, pretty much everyone in the UK uses the american billion, besides, the real UK billion is a million x million, which is not 10 power 8.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    eat@meeat@me Posts: 321member
    [quote]Originally posted by MarcUK:

<strong>Id guess that is a newspaper typo, pretty much everyone in the UK uses the american billion, besides, the real UK billion is a million x million, which is not 10 power 8.</strong><hr></blockquote>

Thx. i knew it was a wrong. a million million = UK Billion or 10 to the 12th which is US trillion. I get it now. :-)
  • Reply 3 of 13
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    In France a million is 1000 000, a billion is 1000 000 000 000 10e12 a trillion 10e18 a quatrillion 10e 24 a quintillion 10e 30 ....