Intel at CES to show off next-gen of Apple-bound Sandy Bridge processors

Comments

• Reply 81 of 136
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by nht View Post

Apple isn't giving up on OCL in either scenario given Intel is providing OCL support on the CPU. OpenCL is supposed to run on CPUs, GPUs and whatever other hardware happens to be available. As long as the Sandy Bridge MB performs well in the GPGPU benchmarks then who cares if the OpenCL code execution occurs on a GPU or CPU.

The machines that may use a SB processor with the Intel IGP are the MBAs, MBs, minis and 13" MBPs. That's a large swath of Mac machines and a significant percentage of Macs. My guess is that if Apple do as you suggest and use SB with Intel IGPs in those machines most developers will eschew OCL for GCD. As I understand it, coding an app to use GCD is easier than OCL (I'm not a SW developer so perhaps I'm wrong).

You also suggest that SB will be fairly close in OCL using the CPU vs. a machine using the GPU. I'm not sure that'll be true for machines that use SB mobile CPUs. Time will tell, but right now the mobile GPUs are magnitudes faster than the mobile CPUs in running the OCL benchmark. SB is likely to reduce that gap but I still suspect it'll be fairly large.

Really it comes down to this, will a LLano that has a CPU and GPU capable of runing OCL be faster than a mobile SB CPU? I believe it will. Apple may still choose Intel anyway for other reasons but I certainly think that AMD have a viable product for the Mac machines that will only have IGPs.
  • Reply 82 of 136
    nhtnht Posts: 4,522member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tailpipe View Post

This thread has become so geeky it's terrifying. Can you try and dial it down a couple of notches so lesser mortals can understand what the heck you're saying?

Wiz, Marvin, bactomac, blueeddie and nht would care to summarise your analysis in single paras. Thank you in anticipation!