Mac Pro Purchase - Now or Wait?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hey Guys!

I am ready to purchase my first Mac Pro. Regardless of how you feel about it's merits, just assume that I need the processing power that it can offer. I am a Composer, at least I'm studying Music Composition as my Major area of Study. I have a very large sample library that requires a machine like this.

I am looking to buy the 8-Core model with 16 GB RAM, minimum and various upgrades elsewhere.

Obviously, I am researching every bit of information I can find about the current model of Mac Pro (2010). While I adore Apple products, I can't deny that they can get expensive. So, I'm taking as many precautions as I can before purchase.

Now, I know that Mac Pro's latest update was in August 2010 - something long overdue. So, it seems fair for me to be comforted in knowing that I'll be purchasing the latest version offered for this computer. Is it, though?

I was hoping that there would be some type of Apple Event in January 2011. Why? I just wanted to make sure that there wouldn't be some type of update in any aspect of the Mac Pro models, pricing, etc. Are my fears legitimate?

I realize that Apple, traditionally, likes to offer product updates every year or so. So, it would be a bit early for anything new. But, you never know! There are plenty of people out there, smarter than I, that could have a bit of information that could help me out!

So...set aside any bias you may have against the Mac Pro: Would it be wise, as a consumer hoping to purchase the latest product and have it remain so for a while, to purchase a Mac Pro at this time?

Thanks Guys!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 17
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by compos24 View Post

I was hoping that there would be some type of Apple Event in January 2011. Why?

I was just about to ask you the same question...

Quote: