New Android Amazon Kindle to abandon eInk and take on iPad with customized Android build

Comments

• Reply 21 of 103
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by TBell View Post

Kindle's beauty is it is a dedicated reader. It provides a top notch digital reading experience. Adding a back lit screen to make the device do more, for many readers will probably be a step backwards. It might still sell, but probably not for people who truly love reading.

I love reading, and I'm a writer.

I can't stand "eInk" and wouldn't buy a reader that used it if you paid me.

Edit: As I'm typing this, I'm also sitting on a bench in direct sunlight, reading a comic on my iPad.
  • Reply 22 of 103
    pmcdpmcd Posts: 396member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mister Snitch View Post

2) I don't think Kindle buyers necessarily PREFER e-ink. That's far from proven. E-ink is just what you got at the Kindle price.

E-ink is the only reason for our two Kindles, otherwise we would simply use our iDevices. Amazon would lose a lot of readers were they to abandon that. I can't imagine them doing it.

philip
  • Reply 23 of 103
    pmcdpmcd Posts: 396member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SpamSandwich View Post

At that low price point, there will be some room for this product, but only if hackers can make it more usable.

I doubt Amazon cares about the hacker market. They want to sell stuff.

philip
  • Reply 24 of 103
    Are there any Kindle rumor sites? What about Google rumor sites?
  • Reply 25 of 103
    gqbgqb Posts: 1,934member
    Amazon has the big advantage that apple has...

Neither has to slum withe other tablet makers in Best Buy hell.

Both have their own storefront.

That is what will catapult amazon's device quickly to #2.
  • Reply 26 of 103
    sorry no eink no Kindle for me, and I have used both.
  • Reply 27 of 103