667 DVI or PC Laptop, need advice

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hi guys, I already wrote a similar message in other forums but I need to get serious advice.

I am a student (college), I need a laptop that will last AT LEAST 3 years. I've been dreaming and looking the PowerBook for a long time now. The DVI seems to be a good revision but I don't know why I have the fear that Apple will make me regret it by releasing anoter powerbook in the next 4-5 months that will basicly ruin my investisment. I have a good deal here for a 667 DVI for 3600$ CAN which is about 2250 USD$. I got a Apple care for about 75$ too. But I've been looking for a PC Laptop too. Here is what I found:

Toshiba Satellite 5100, P4-M 1.7ghz, 512MB DDR, 64mb Geforce 2 440 DDR, 40gb, 15.1inch 1600x1200 screen, Combo drive, nice little remote for DVD etc... for the same price of the TiBook. But I don't get a 3 year warranty at that price.

I also found the Dell Dimension 8200 (1.6ghz P4-M, 256Mb DDR, Combo drive, 15.1inch (1440xSomething), 30gb, Nvidia Geforce 2 Go 32mb DDR. For 2800$ CAN ( 1,768.96 USD). That includes a 3 year ON SITE CompleteCare plan (24hr service).

Here are my needs : A durable laptop that I can run a unix on it, browse, mp3s, DVD but mainly UNIX stuff. I will also run Office and a couple of Mathematics programs. My main interest in the TiBook is the OS. I need PCMCIA so no iBook for me.

I know that I am writing this in an Apple forum but please use your good judgement.

I am buying in a week.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    alcimedesalcimedes Posts: 5,486member
    ok, let's narrow things down a bit.

first, you're missing the two most important specs on a laptop.

what's the respective weight and battery life for each machine.

weight always matter because anything over 5.5 - 6.0 lbs. gets damn heavy in a hurry.

battery life matters because you never know when you're going to need to use your machine for an extended period without a power outlet.