Upgrading a 2006 MacPro 2.66 GHz Machine

Posted:
in General Discussion edited March 2014
I have had my MacPro V1.1 machine, model MA356LL/A, for about 6 years, and it has performed perfectly. The only "changes" I have made are 1) added 2 more Gig of RAM, for a total of 3 Gig, and 2) replaced the Internal Hard Drive with a Seagate 1 Terabyte 7200 rpm drive. I would like to keep it, but it looks like Mountain Lion (OS 10.8) will not run on it.



I have been trying to sell it recently so that I can purchase a 21" iMac machine (model MC309LL/A, and that would easily be enough for me), but I am not getting any interest. I am selling my MacPro for $1150, and I am including a perfectly working Sony 19" monitor, an Apple Extended keyboard, an Apple Magic Mouse (actually, I will just use the one that comes with the iMac as part of the sale, and keep my (perfectly functional) Logitech mouse), and OS 10.7 (Lion).



As I mentioned, if I can keep the MacPro, I would, I am wondering, therefore, if I can upgrade the processor to one that is 1) compatible with Mountain Lion, and 2) is at least as fast as the processor I have now. Also, and excuse me for being a novice at this, but I am using Comcast as my ISP, and I have an Arris DOCSIS 3.0/EMTA modem, and a Netgear 802b/g/n router. How can I tell if I am "connecting" at 802.11n? If I'm not, how do I upgrade to 802.11n?



Any information/advice/assistance etc. would be appreciated.

Comments

  • tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 39,492member
    You can't upgrade the processor to anything Mountain Lion compatible.



    Check to see if your Wi-Fi chip is even capable of 802.11n. I'm pretty sure they were, and if so you already are, but if not, I think you can put in one of the newer Mac Pros' Wi-Fi chips.



    If you want to sell it, you'll need to get WAY more than 3GB of RAM since absolutely no one wants to deal with FB-DIMMs anymore. Even OWC has RAM fairly cheap, and they're not even the cheap end of the scale.
  • akent35akent35 Posts: 15member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post


    You can't upgrade the processor to anything Mountain Lion compatible.



    Check to see if your Wi-Fi chip is even capable of 802.11n. I'm pretty sure they were, and if so you already are, but if not, I think you can put in one of the newer Mac Pros' Wi-Fi chips.



    If you want to sell it, you'll need to get WAY more than 3GB of RAM since absolutely no one wants to deal with FB-DIMMs anymore. Even OWC has RAM fairly cheap, and they're not even the cheap end of the scale.



    Thanks for the information. I was hoping to upgrade it, but it looks like that's out.



    Yeah, I've thought about increasing the RAM by 2 gig, but yes, such an upgrade is not that cheap. I believe the cheapest I can upgrade for is about $60. If such a "small" investment could just about guarantee me a sale, I'd do it in a heart beat.
  • akent35akent35 Posts: 15member
    Also, regarding how to check if the Wi-Fi chip is even capable of 802.11n, here is what it says, via System Profiler, under Network/Airport:



    Software Versions:

    Menu Extrat6.2.2 (622.2)

    configd plug-int6.2.5 (625.6)

    System Profilert6.0.1 (601.1)

    Network Preferencet6.2.2 (622.2)

    AirPort Utilityt5.4.2 (542.23)

    IO80211 Familyt3.2 (320.1)



    I am running the latest version of Snow Leopard, OS 10.6.8.



    If someone could explain this to me, that would be helpful.
  • muppetrymuppetry Posts: 3,141member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by akent35 View Post


    Also, regarding how to check if the Wi-Fi chip is even capable of 802.11n, here is what it says, via System Profiler, under Network/Airport:



    Software Versions:

    Menu Extrat6.2.2 (622.2)

    configd plug-int6.2.5 (625.6)

    System Profilert6.0.1 (601.1)

    Network Preferencet6.2.2 (622.2)

    AirPort Utilityt5.4.2 (542.23)

    IO80211 Familyt3.2 (320.1)



    I am running the latest version of Snow Leopard, OS 10.6.8.



    If someone could explain this to me, that would be helpful.



    It should say a lot more below that, under interfaces. Specifically it should list supported modes.



    If that is all that is listed then it doesn't have a wireless card.
  • akent35akent35 Posts: 15member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by muppetry View Post


    It should say a lot more below that, under interfaces. Specifically it should list supported modes.



    If that is all that is listed then it doesn't have a wireless card.



    I posted the wrong information. Here is what it says under Network/Locations:



    "Automatic:



    Active LocationtYes

    Services:

    Ethernet 1:

    TypetEthernet

    BSD Device Nameten0

    Hardware (MAC) Addresst00:17:f2:04:99:c0

    IPv4:

    Configuration MethodtDHCP

    IPv6:

    Configuration MethodtAutomatic

    Proxies:

    FTP Proxy EnabledtNo

    FTP Passive ModetYes

    Gopher Proxy EnabledtNo

    HTTP Proxy EnabledtNo

    HTTPS Proxy EnabledtNo

    RTSP Proxy EnabledtNo

    SOCKS Proxy EnabledtNo

    Ethernet 2:

    TypetEthernet

    BSD Device Nameten1

    Hardware (MAC) Addresst00:17:f2:04:99:c1

    IPv4:

    Configuration MethodtDHCP

    IPv6:

    Configuration MethodtAutomatic

    Proxies:

    Proxy Configuration Methodt2

    Exclude Simple HostnamestNo

    FTP Passive ModetYes

    Auto Discovery EnabledtNo

    FireWire:

    TypetFireWire

    BSD Device Nametfw0

    Hardware (MAC) Addresst00:16:cb:ff:fe:70:78:ea

    IPv4:

    Configuration MethodtDHCP

    IPv6:

    Configuration MethodtAutomatic

    Proxies:

    Proxy Configuration Methodt2

    Exclude Simple HostnamestNo

    FTP Passive ModetYes

    Auto Discovery EnabledtNo"



    Something on that list should indicated if I am connecting at 802.11n, right?
  • muppetrymuppetry Posts: 3,141member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by akent35 View Post


    I posted the wrong information. Here is what it says under Network/Locations:



    "Automatic:



    Active LocationtYes

    Services:

    Ethernet 1:

    TypetEthernet

    BSD Device Nameten0

    Hardware (MAC) Addresst00:17:f2:04:99:c0

    IPv4:

    Configuration MethodtDHCP

    IPv6:

    Configuration MethodtAutomatic

    Proxies:

    FTP Proxy EnabledtNo

    FTP Passive ModetYes

    Gopher Proxy EnabledtNo

    HTTP Proxy EnabledtNo

    HTTPS Proxy EnabledtNo

    RTSP Proxy EnabledtNo

    SOCKS Proxy EnabledtNo

    Ethernet 2:

    TypetEthernet

    BSD Device Nameten1

    Hardware (MAC) Addresst00:17:f2:04:99:c1

    IPv4:

    Configuration MethodtDHCP

    IPv6:

    Configuration MethodtAutomatic

    Proxies:

    Proxy Configuration Methodt2

    Exclude Simple HostnamestNo

    FTP Passive ModetYes

    Auto Discovery EnabledtNo

    FireWire:

    TypetFireWire

    BSD Device Nametfw0

    Hardware (MAC) Addresst00:16:cb:ff:fe:70:78:ea

    IPv4:

    Configuration MethodtDHCP

    IPv6:

    Configuration MethodtAutomatic

    Proxies:

    Proxy Configuration Methodt2

    Exclude Simple HostnamestNo

    FTP Passive ModetYes

    Auto Discovery EnabledtNo"



    Something on that list should indicated if I am connecting at 802.11n, right?



    No - you were in the correct place first time - Network/Airport. However, all that you showed were the installed software versions. In the same section, if you have an airport card installed, below "Software Versions" will be "Interfaces", where the card type, firmware, MAC address etc. will be reported.
  • oldcodger73oldcodger73 Posts: 707member
    I haven't been following Mountain Lion news. Why won't the original 1996 MacPro run on Mountain Lion?
  • tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 39,492member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by OldCodger73 View Post


    I haven't been following Mountain Lion news. Why won't the original 1996 MacPro run on Mountain Lion?



    Well, it's about a decade and a half too old, is all.



    It has 32-bit EFI, which apparently isn't supported.
  • tradesteadytradesteady Posts: 3member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by OldCodger73 View Post


    I haven't been following Mountain Lion news. Why won't the original 1996 MacPro run on Mountain Lion?



    Yes, seems you got an inner sight to this...
  • akent35akent35 Posts: 15member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by muppetry View Post


    No - you were in the correct place first time - Network/Airport. However, all that you showed were the installed software versions. In the same section, if you have an airport card installed, below "Software Versions" will be "Interfaces", where the card type, firmware, MAC address etc. will be reported.



    Please excuse me for being somewhat "naive" about this, but why do I need an Airport card on a MacPro, unless the Ethernet "connectivity" is only capable to "connecting" at 802.11g? My Netgear router is 802.11n capable, so my MacPro (via the Ethernet connection) would need to communicate with it. If it's only capable of communicating 802.11g, then I understand.
  • muppetrymuppetry Posts: 3,141member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by akent35 View Post


    Please excuse me for being somewhat "naive" about this, but why do I need an Airport card on a MacPro, unless the Ethernet "connectivity" is only capable to "connecting" at 802.11g? My Netgear router is 802.11n capable, so my MacPro (via the Ethernet connection) would need to communicate with it. If it's only capable of communicating 802.11g, then I understand.



    Ah - I understand. You confused everyone by asking if you could connect at 802.11n. That's a wireless specification, not a connection speed, so it seemed like you were asking how fast the

    Airport card in your Mac Pro is.



    To answer your real question (I think) - your Mac Pro wired ethernet interfaces are gigabit, provided that you use Cat 5 cable or better. Much faster than your ISP and faster than 802.11n, which is up to 600 Mb/s. Even 802.11g, at 54 Mb/s, will likely be faster than your ISP unless you are on Comcast's latest fiber optic connection.
  • hexum311adhexum311ad Posts: 1member
    Quote:

    Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post



    You can't upgrade the processor to anything Mountain Lion compatible.



    Check to see if your Wi-Fi chip is even capable of 802.11n. I'm pretty sure they were, and if so you already are, but if not, I think you can put in one of the newer Mac Pros' Wi-Fi chips.



    If you want to sell it, you'll need to get WAY more than 3GB of RAM since absolutely no one wants to deal with FB-DIMMs anymore. Even OWC has RAM fairly cheap, and they're not even the cheap end of the scale.

    Hey there!

    I was looking to buy a similar machine from a friend of mine (specs below). Its currently running 10.6.8 but of course I'd like to upgrade it to at least Mountain Lion; could you tell me WHY it cant be upgraded to run Mtn Lion?

     

    Model number: A1186-2113

    Mac Pro MA356LL/A

    MacPro1,1

    Processor: 2 x 2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon

    RAM: 5GB 667MHz DDR2 F8-DIMM

  • tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 39,492member
    Originally Posted by hexum311ad View Post

    could you tell me WHY it cant be upgraded to run Mtn Lion?

     

    I want to say that it’s because the first-gen Mac Pro wasn’t 64-bit from top to bottom, but I’m not 100%. 

Sign In or Register to comment.