HELP! Resolution disappeared can't get desktop to appear properly...

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I've been using Macs since 1992 when I paid nearly $2000 for a Mac LC with the brand-new-at-the-time System 7 (whoo-hoo!). I now have two G4 systems (400, and 550 SPs) and a few months ago I persuaded a friend to jump ship from Windoze to a nice G4 400 (Gigabit Ethernet, ADC) system on which he uses OS X 10.1.5 displayed on a beige Apple 17" CRT monitor (VGA to Apple adaptor, been working a treat for four months).

Everything's been hunkydory right up until tonight when I was round his place and he was having trouble with a CD in iTunes3. It wouldn't read the disc and the spinning beachball started doing its thing.

After five mins of beachball, I advised him to do a FORCE QUIT of iTunes which didn't work, then he hit eject and the disc came out, then he tried FORCE QUIT on iTunes again and the FINDER crashed. After five minutes of beach ball on a plain blue background (desktop picture, dock and everything else had disappeared), I recommended he hit the nice little reset button on the front (pre-Quicksliver G4 400 y'see).

The G4 restarted, but slowly, the Mac OS X screen came up, but it kicked into the wrong resolution. Not only was it in the wrong resolution (1028 instead of 1152) but about two inches of the top, bottom, left and right of the desktop were NOT ON THE SCREEN.