Jaguar installation on new iBook: Archive and Install or Erase and install

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Got a new iBook and the only thing I've loaded onto it is a printer driver and MS Office. So, there's not much I'd have to reinstall.

Should I go with the Archive and install or the erase and install? Any pointers would be appreciated?

Do I need to back up anything? (remember, nothing, pretty much has been installed yet)

Do I need OS 9 at all? I wouldn't think so since I'm a switcher and have no OS 9 things.

Again, any pointers would be appreciated. I need a lot of handholding as I take the Mac plunge (although I was happy to upgrade the memory on my iBook to max it out today. I'm pretty new to this and I'll take all the small victories.)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    stunnedstunned Posts: 1,096member
    [quote]Originally posted by gozo:

<strong>Got a new iBook and the only thing I've loaded onto it is a printer driver and MS Office. So, there's not much I'd have to reinstall.

Should I go with the Archive and install or the erase and install? Any pointers would be appreciated?

Do I need to back up anything? (remember, nothing, pretty much has been installed yet)

Do I need OS 9 at all? I wouldn't think so since I'm a switcher and have no OS 9 things.

Again, any pointers would be appreciated. I need a lot of handholding as I take the Mac plunge (although I was happy to upgrade the memory on my iBook to max it out today. I'm pretty new to this and I'll take all the small victories.)</strong><hr></blockquote>

Since u do not have much programs in it, its better to erase everything and have a clean install. Apple also recommend such a move.