Need some more C programming help

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I've been making some strides in learning C, and for some reason I cannot make a simple switch statement work properly. I've tried writing two different programs that are simple letter-guessing games.

Every time, you answer the first question properly, it sends you to question 2 and then directly to the default: statement.

Answering the first question incorrectly displays the default: statement twice before dropping you back to the first question.

Any help would be immensely appreciated.I'm new at this, so please forgive my ignorance and mistakes.

[code]

#include <stdio.h>

int main()

{

char q1_input = 0;

char q2_input = 0;

short main_count = 0;

printf("This is a very simple letter-guessing quiz");

Question1:

{

printf("\

\

What letter am I thinking of?");

scanf("%c", &q1_input);

switch (q1_input)

{

case 'C': case 'c':

printf("\

Excellent! You guessed right!");

main_count += 5;

goto Question2;

break;

default:

printf("\

Sorry, try again!");

goto Question1;

break;

}

}

Question2:

{

printf("\

You have %d points", main_count);

printf("\

What letter am I thinking of now?");

scanf("%c", &q2_input);

switch (q2_input)

{

case 'D': case 'd':

printf("\

\

Correct!");

main_count += 5;

goto End;

break;

default:

printf("\

Nein!");

break;

}

}

End:

{

printf("\

\

You ended up with %d points!", main_count);

}

}

</pre><hr></blockquote>

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    programmerprogrammer Posts: 3,458member
    I strongly suggest that you remove the gotos and restructure your code so that you don't need them... and then forget that you ever learned that "goto" exists in C/C++.

The source of your problem is likely to be something to do with how scanf works. If I recall correctly scanf doesn't return until you end the input line, and then it will read the key you typed plus the end-of-line character(s). scanf("%c\