7450 recompile = 25% speed boost

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Apparently over at xlr8yourmac, there is an article about an RC5 recompile that gives a 25% boost on the 7450 (G4+) processor,

There was alot of big talk when the 7450 was released that apps would need a recompile to make more efficient use of the 7 pipelines, I am wondering if this is the result of such?

But what chance is there of many apps being recompiled when the 7450 hassuch a low overall %'age of the mac market, we can't even get developers to write more altivec.

Maybe the G5's true performance will be hampered by devs not recompiling for its 10 stages?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    I've never heard of a compiler caring about the nuber of pipes in the CPU? But I'm no expert.

I would think amount of cache on the chip (level 1, 2, 3 ...) would have the most effect. How does the on chip cache change in the 7450?
  • Reply 2 of 12
    marcukmarcuk Posts: 4,442member
    Im no expert either, but I definately remember people talking about this, I think that code expecting to see a 4 stage chip will cause 'bubbles' when sent to a 7 stager. As macs have had 4 stagers since the dawn of time, I'd expect this is not a widely known thing?

But, at the end of the day, someone recompiled specifically for the 7450 and got a 25% performance increase, which makes me think that the early G4 733's didn't show the jump we expected over the 533's because the 7400 code was inneficient for the chip.
  • Reply 3 of 12
    airslufairsluf Posts: 1,861member
  • Reply 4 of 12
    thttht Posts: 5,444member
    <strong>Originally posted by Scott H.:

I've never heard of a compiler caring about the nuber of pipes in the CPU? But I'm no expert.

I would think amount of cache on the chip (level 1, 2, 3 ...) would have the most effect. How does the on chip cache change in the 7450?</strong>