Reminder to support our troops.

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Even though many of us may be against this war, all of us must make sure any troops involved in this terrible tragedy get our blessings. This is not their fault. We should welcome their participation in the war as their duty to those who have made misfortunate decisions for them. No matter how the war goes we should make sure they are treated as heroes by all when they return.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 74
    stunnedstunned Posts: 1,096member
    I agree. Soldiers go to battle due to commands from their superiors and politicians.

As a former soldier, I salute those brave lads who have to stay away form home and encounter dangers in foreign lands!
  • Reply 2 of 74
    matlockmatlock Posts: 44member
    I might get flamed for this, but I disagree.

Becoming a soldier shouldnt force you to blindly accept any order/assignment. If you don't support this war, you should do all you can NOT to fight in it. I admit I don't know how the US Army works, I'm not sure if it is even possible to not go to a war, but it should be allowed.

And the people not supporting this war cannot consider them heroes. They were the initiators of a conflict that in their mind is not legally and/or morally right. Doesn't sound too much like heroes...
  • Reply 3 of 74
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Matlock

I might get flamed for this, but I disagree.

Becoming a soldier shouldnt force you to blindly accept any order/assignment. If you don't support this war, you should do all you can NOT to fight in it. I admit I don't know how the US Army works, I'm not sure if it is even possible to not go to a war, but it should be allowed.

And the people not supporting this war cannot consider them heroes. They were the initiators of a conflict that in their mind is not legally and/or morally right. Doesn't sound too much like heroes...