The saga of my dead ibook

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Two weeks ago my ibook (800Mhz/30GB/Combo) at the grad age of 4 months old, died the display flickered random pixels everywhere and then it locked up.

I managed to get it to boot up and get my stuff off of there onto my trusty Lacie FWHD.

So I call apple to ask what I can do, not much but I tried it, without luck. So another call and it was booked in for repair. I gave PC World a call (as I got it from there) to make sure that getting it repaired by apple would not affect my rights etc. I was told no have to use PC wold. so I go in there to get patronised by some idiot ("I have had macs for 4 years, mate" so what I have been using macs professionally for 7 years and had macs for 12 years but WTF?) Anyways this guy says book it in so I call up to book it in and get told "ill give you this number for Apple" can anyone see the joke here (I couldn't at the time).

So my ibook went to Apples UK agents on Friday and came back today! pretty cool I thought considering the bank holiday it was great until I tried to boot the sucker! dead, dead, dead! So I call Apples agents and ask what's going on. "Oh we replaced the logic board, try plugging it in to a power adaptor" (I did and it worked) "Ok it sounds like a faulty logic board" I ask "so you replaced my faulty logic board with a faulty one?" to which he replies "yes I'll get it picked up tomorrow".

I can figure out if I should cry or laugh. sorry for a long venting post and thanks for reading folks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    alcimedesalcimedes Posts: 5,486member
    you're sure it didn't just come back with a dead battery?

(could also be they replaced something other than the logic board, but the logic board was toast too. although they should have tested it unplugged)
  • Reply 2 of 22