Compatibility with older products and new G5s

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I noticed the new macs, if all holds true, uses USB 2.0, and firewire 800 as its inputs. My Wacom 9x12 tablet is regular USB,as is my card reader, and mouse, so does this mean it wouldn't work with the new towers? I don't know much about Firewire either, but I use an external cd firewire burner, and was wondering if it would work with either their new formats? Thanx for enlightening me. Be kind, this is my first post, but I've been using Macs now for 6 years. I'm eagerly anticipating how Apple is going to handle the situation on Monday if that's when things will be revealed.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    applenutapplenut Posts: 5,768member
    both USB 2.0 and Firewire 800 are backwards compatible.

no worries
  • Reply 2 of 6
    heishheish Posts: 4member
    Firewire 800 port needs an adapter to be used with the old firewire devices, though.
  • Reply 3 of 6
    bartobarto Posts: 2,246member
    The ports are actually exactly the same as the ports now, with one extra USB.

The current Power Macs have USB 2 ports, but without drivers for supermegahighspeed operation.

The current Power Macs have 2 FireWire 400 and one FireWire 800 port. The leaked specs say the G5 will have exactly the same.

Barto
  • Reply 4 of 6
    Quote:

Originally posted by Barto

The ports are actually exactly the same as the ports now, with one extra USB.

Not so. The FW 800 port is likely to be physically distinct from FW 400 ports.

Edit: To be more specific, FW 800 or 1394b supports both Beta and DS signaling modes. (DS signaling is what 1394a or FW400 uses.) Beta is FW 800 and will require a physically distinct port in order to prevent FW 400 cables from being attached.