XCode, why aren't the programmers here salivating over it?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
One part of the Keynote that impressed me was XCode. I'm not a programer, hence I have no idea what this means to programmers. Nonetheless, I got the impression that XCode was revolutionary. Yet I don't see any excitement about it here.

What's the deal? Will it make life easier for programmers or not? Will it invite programmers to the Mac platform or is it just an "oh-hmm" release?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,425member
    You're not looking in the right thread. Search for posts by Kickaha. You'll find some good comments.
  • Reply 2 of 15
    bartobarto Posts: 2,246member
    Who says they arn't? I haven't used it yet, but from the screenshots I think it will rock. It looks so much user friendly than MS Visual whatever or PB.

Barto
  • Reply 3 of 15
    wjmoorewjmoore Posts: 210member
    XCode sounds good but it doesn't make programming easier. You still have to know what you're doing. It just makes the act of coding itself a more efficient exercise. So overall it will be nicer to work with and adds some nice features but doesn't really make the act of programming any easier. I feel it is unlikely that it alone will attract new developers to the OS X platform, of course I could be wrong and I am yet to use it.

WM
  • Reply 4 of 15
    pbpb Posts: 4,255member
    Macbidouille has today some interesting info from an anonymous developer. Briefly it says:

(1) IBM has the intention to port its own compilers to OS X. Surprise: Fortran included.

(2) This will considerably boost code performance.

(3) Fortran inclusion will apparently be important in scientific applications.

(4) The compiler supports OpenMP.

It doesn't says if the port has something to do with Xcode or if it is something independent. Neither says when this will happen. So, if someone has more precise info, please post here.
  • Reply 5 of 15