C++ / C / Objective-C

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Heya,

I currently have experience with Java, and as far as programming experience goes, have only worked with object oriented languages.

I'm no expert Java programmer, and my expertise only runs to stuff like the basics of linked lists, b-trees, avl's, hash tables etc... (only know what i've learnt from my comp sci degree (starting 2nd year now)).

But I'd like to pickup either C++ / C / or Objective-C in the near future and here's my criteria:

I'm already enrolled in a C++ course next semester, but i'd also like to be able to write some small applications for OSX, however, it seems most people recommend\\prefer Obj-C (most supported by apple it seems). Or is this not true and you can do it in any language?

If I decided to learn C\\Obj-C (pick one) and C++ concurrently (have to take the class next sem so no choice), would this be unwise? I don't mind a syntax difference, but I realize that C is not object oriented like C++.

And I guess my last inquiry is, is it easy to pickup Objective-C after an intermediate level of C, and is it easy to transition from either of the former languages to C++?

The reason I ask these things is because I love working in OSX, and i'd love to develop for OSX as a hobby, but I'm also looking towards my future co-op (student company hiring opportunities) and also the jobs when I graduate w/ this comp sci bachelor degree.

Anyways, any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a ton.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 17
    dfryerdfryer Posts: 140member
    Apple's "Carbon" framework (most similar to classic MacOS) is fully accessible from C or C++ (or for that matter, Objective-C). If you want to use Cocoa, their object-oriented framework from NeXT, you'll need to know Java or Objective-C.