1st Mac - questions.

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
This is my first mac and I love it. I'm a windows systems engineer, so everything I'm trying to figure out I'm still thinking in the windows world. I figured out a lot of it already, like using Finder for.... uhhh... pretty much everything.

Couple things though, first, If I have a printer on a windows machine that is shared and I DO have the mac driver on my system, how can I set up the printer with IP printing and tell it the driver I want. It's a HP 5550 and the only driver I have is a installer, and once I run it I have no idea where the driver is to have it load to the IP printer. It only wants to install to an attached USB. And another quick one, how do you uninstall software? Is there an "Add/remove" program in here somewhere? thank you!

ME

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    haraldharald Posts: 2,152member
    Quote:

Originally posted by pc-to-mac

And another quick one, how do you uninstall software? Is there an "Add/remove" program in here somewhere? thank you!

ME

OS X right?

Remember all those DLL's and everythin ... all those odd things all over your computer?

Forget 'em.

To uninstall an app drag it to the bin. Done.

(In OS X, an app is a 'bundle' with all the gubbins inside it)
  • Reply 2 of 20
    Quote:

Originally posted by Harald

OS X right?

Remember all those DLL's and everythin ... all those odd things all over your computer?

Forget 'em.

To uninstall an app drag it to the bin. Done.

(In OS X, an app is a 'bundle' with all the gubbins inside it)

No way. It can't be that easy. ummm... wow. That's the only thing I can think of to say. How about the printer problem? And another one, when I insert a card into the pcmcia card slot on the side, does it grab it right away and ask you what to do, or do you have to activate it somehow?

ME
  • Reply 3 of 20