Please Help Me Make The Switch!!!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello,

i've been a windows user since i was 11, now at 19 i've decided i'm tired of frequent crashes and microsoft's big brother complex and im looking to get a powerbook. the problem is i dont have a ton of money since im a student. im going to art school and i need a system to run photoshop/illustrator/indesign without any lagging if possible. i want to know what would be a good system to buy.

could i get away with buying a 500 mhz tibook and just max out the ram? or should i buy a higher speed pb and bite the bullet? or is there something even lower than a 500 that i could work with? your input is VERY important. Thank you!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    check out this threadhttp://forums.appleinsider.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=30643

these are really great prices.

Randy
  • Reply 2 of 12
    i kinda need something a little bit lower. but thanks for the heads up, when i get more money i'll probably venture there. but right now i just need SOMETHING.
  • Reply 3 of 12
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    Quote:

Originally posted by NaturalIngredients

i kinda need something a little bit lower. but thanks for the heads up, when i get more money i'll probably venture there. but right now i just need SOMETHING.

Get a low-end iBook, and sell it off when the time comes. And in college, you'll be eligible for educational pricing.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    what are you looking to spend? that would help a lot here.
  • Reply 5 of 12
    Art school, huh. . .

Well, you need at least 1GB of RAM. A G4 better than 1GHz (Or something better) I'd recommend. If you're very budget conscious, get a tower. But the important hing is that you'll need that RAM. Plus, a decent CPU and Graphics card (by decent I mean better than an ATI 7500) go a long way.

? 1GB DDR333 SDRAM (PC2700) - 2 DIMMs

? 80GB Ultra ATA drive

? Optical 1 - Combo Drive (DVD/CD-RW)

? Optical 2 - None