Pro Tools 6 Free... when?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Awhile back I heard that the OS X version of the audio production program from Digidesign, Protools was set to release with a "free" version that doesn't need the audio hardware to run. Such a version for OS 9 and even Window$ has been available for like 3 years already... When is the OS X PT6 Free releasing finally? That's the only reason why I'm not using it. I refuse to restart into OS 9 just for the sake of using Pro Tools. I wanna stay in OS X for as long as I can.

Anyone have any information about this?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    I don't have any info on this, but I've been considering writing to Digi and complaining about this. I'm a student, and I don't like having my only option be buying an M-Box (as much as I'd like one....). Maybe they're having trouble getting it to work with the built-in audio hardware under OS X because of the entirely new software architecture (Audio Units and all).

At least PT6 was first for OS X, and I don't even know if they've finally gotten around to Digi002 support for XP. But who cares anyway.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    Don't hold your breath. There is still no free version for XP either. I think it's something they just stopped doing.
  • Reply 3 of 5
    Quote:

Originally posted by Noleli2

I don't have any info on this, but I've been considering writing to Digi and complaining about this. I'm a student, and I don't like having my only option be buying an M-Box (as much as I'd like one....). Maybe they're having trouble getting it to work with the built-in audio hardware under OS X because of the entirely new software architecture (Audio Units and all).

At least PT6 was first for OS X, and I don't even know if they've finally gotten around to Digi002 support for XP. But who cares anyway.