Java causing me problems. . .

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I use and like safari and Netscape (on the PC). Haven't ran into many problems. I was about to recommend a Mac laptop to a Realtor friend as the ease of use is exactly what he needs.

I did a favor for him today as he was out of town and need some info. I when to a site that he needs to view. The Java on my PC and the Mac seem to be Sun based Java, and the site didn't work at all!! The Java tried to load and just stalled out!

I finally uninstalled all the Sun Java, and the site worked correctly under IE on Windows. Now the Netscape on the PC has no Java capability! (arrgh!)

Is there any solution to this problem? I was hopping to set my friend up with a power book, but now can't recommend it as the Java problem will be the deal killer.

Thanks!

-Scott

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    cyloncylon Posts: 126member
    I am a realtor also. I have problems using the newer MLS systems with anything other than Internet Explorer. They are all Java based and the programers have decided to us MS standards instead of industry standard Java. Boo on them. So instead of using a Camino or Safari like I do with everything else I have to use a substandard explorer for accessing MLS.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Quote:

Originally posted by cylon

I am a realtor also. I have problems using the newer MLS systems with anything other than Internet Explorer. They are all Java based and the programers have decided to us MS standards instead of industry standard Java. Boo on them. So instead of using a Camino or Safari like I do with everything else I have to use a substandard explorer for accessing MLS.

Hi Cylon,

Is the IE on the Mac or PC?

We tried again this evening and after installing a newer version of IE on the Mac (5.2.3) the MLS thingy just killed the browser. Same thing with Safari, just "unexpectedly quit" as the Finder says.