Help me make a decision: buy New or used?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hello there AIers,

I'm a student (low cash flow) but need to replace my ailing powerbook 540c that I use to complement my iMac DVSE400.

The powerbook is used during the whole weekend, as I am working and not at home, and i basically use it as a wordprocessing (Wordperfect) and internet station (iCab), since i've got access to the place's network.

The powerbook is dying, would need some power thingy resoldering if I am right and maybe a keyboard replacement. Now, I paid 400$ close to 3 years ago for it (along with a stupid 300$ for 2 new batteries). This leaves me with:

Options:

1) pay something like 100-150$ to have the PB repaired, hope it keeps running reliably.

2)get a used powerbook (maybe a PPC 2400) for about 300$, hope it runs reliably.

3)get a new ibook for about 1500$

I could (maybe should) sell my iMac for this but (feeling real ridiculous about this) I just love it so much! It's been to most reliable machine i've ever used and It still feels fresh and new to me...

Any insight ?

What are your views on used machines? My powerbook was great, and if I hadn't bought those batteries, would be a great deal...

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 50
    Get the iBook and never look back.
  • Reply 2 of 50
    matveimatvei Posts: 193member
    Just to add in:

Doesn't anyone else feel uncomfortable with a laptop as your only computer?

Maybe I'm too used to having a desktop, but I don't like the idea of having "my whole life to go" close to being "my whole life gone 'cause i've been unlucky (or stupid)"...

Having such a powerfull laptop (actually faster that my desktop) would throw me off a bit, what is the use of the desktop then?
  • Reply 3 of 50
    emaneman Posts: 7,204member
    [quote]Originally posted by Matvei:

<strong>Just to add in:

Doesn't anyone else feel uncomfortable with a laptop as your only computer?