Is Apple goint at it again with a HANDHELD/PHONE ?

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
According to this story http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2003/...16142251.shtml what do you guys think?

Wheres Harald ? Nokia instead of SE? Harald, where are you?

what do you think? ?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 25
    Enderle's a prick. End of story.
  • Reply 2 of 25
    haraldharald Posts: 2,152member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ghstmars

According to this story http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2003/...16142251.shtml what do you guys think?

Wheres Harald ? Nokia instead of SE? Harald, where are you?

what do you think? ?

You called?

I have no knowledge of what goes in Nokia ... but I'd be surprised if it was Nokia. If this thing comes out it may not be branded entirely as an Apple phone -- Steve is on record saying that there's no way Apple would do a phone -- and from what I know about what almost happened with the iPhone, it would be a 100% un-altered existing hardware platform with a custom application / service set ... plays nice with your Mac / .Mac etc. It's EXPENSIVE to make a hardware platform.

Oh, I did recently find out about what happened to the iPhone.

It existed (exists), finished right down to the startup animation. Somewhere there's a box of prototypes. It was to have been launched in the US, not Yoorp, with T-Mobile as a partner. T-Mobile got cold feet and wriggled out of a signed contract ... the project got stiffed.

Here lies the problem: you can't launch a mobile anything without buy-in / partnership from an operator. Operators tend to be run worse then Motorola (you think I lie?), and increasingly favour white-labeled 3rd party hardware ... they like their brand. It's a corporate headache worse then the iTMS getting buy-in from enough networks to mean your volume is high enough to get a good margin.