home audio suggestions

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello,

I am looking to set up a simple but fairly powerful home audio system. I would like to hook up the TV, listen to CD's, the radio, and my Ipod w/ dock. Finally, I also want some outdoor speakers to listen to all of this outside too.

What kind of components do I need? Do I need a seperate home theater system for the TV and shelf system (ie creature speakers) for the Ipod?

I'm really new to all of this so simple and medium priced is ideal.

I could go down to circuit city with these question but I figure you guys are smarter. Thanks in advace!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    I think what you need is a receiver/amp. Yamaha makes nice ones, but they might be on the pricey side. Then get some speakers. I'm not sure what kind of music you're into, but if you're like me you'll want some JBL S38's or something. . . I'm not into those little wimpy satellite speaker or Bose systems. I need that mid range energy only a beefy set of speakers can produce.

Go ahead and get some rotating stands so you can swivel the S38's around and out the window when you want some outside speakers. Otherwise, just get some outdoor speakers and plug em into the same reciever.

JBL makes some nice, decently priced speakers. Outdoor models too. All in all, the setup will cost you less than a grand if you want to get pretty fancy. $600 should do you pretty well though.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,423member
    Quote:

Originally posted by cris84

Hello,

I am looking to set up a simple but fairly powerful home audio system. I would like to hook up the TV, listen to CD's, the radio, and my Ipod w/ dock. Finally, I also want some outdoor speakers to listen to all of this outside too.

What kind of components do I need? Do I need a seperate home theater system for the TV and shelf system (ie creature speakers) for the Ipod?

I'm really new to all of this so simple and medium priced is ideal.