QTSS and QuickTime Broadcaster Help

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I've been given the task of learning about these technologies for a potential future purchase at work. What are some good resources on getting this software up and running?

Basically my workplace wants me to learn the capabilities of the software and how to set it up and run it so I can convince them that we need an Xserve. Does anyone have first hand experience with it? Anyone know of a good resource other than apple.com? Thanks....

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    I use Quicktime broadcaster to transmit Enterprise to my wireless laptop in my bedroom. Took some time setting up but I then again I am not an expert with QT Broadcaster. It's cool, but I have few uses for it.

EDIT: Wait! I also use it to record TV in MPEG4 and any other format I want.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Ebby: care to post some specs of your setup?
  • Reply 3 of 8
    paulpaul Posts: 5,278member
    how do you use it to record?

you might want to tool around on www.apple.com/quicktime/

and take a look at the streaming server page...

there will be a link to the darwin version of it that you should be able to install for free and play with (I did it the other day for the hell of it...)

broadcaster of course is free and I use it to capture from my iSight
  • Reply 4 of 8
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    Yes, I have first hand experience with it. It's braindead simple

1) Download and set-up QTSS, most importantly the varous broadcast passwords. Turn it on.

2) Plug-in camcorder and turn it on. If you're not recording with it, leave it without a tape inside. Most cameras auto shut-off after idling a bit with tapes loaded.