Mobile Phones

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
I'm in the UK, currently a T-Mobile user and have a Sony Ericsson T610. (I'm sorry if this post rambles as I try to include too many points!)

Up until 6 months ago I'd never used anything other than a Nokia. My last phone was a 6610, a really nice handset, actually, perhaps the best I'd ever had from them. However, I wanted to iSync my phone with bluetooth so looked at changing. Well, I've been having a lot of problems. A few months back I stopped receiving alerts when I had voice mail waiting and then whenever I pressed the voicemail activation key it would dial I number of another mobile I've never even called before - no option on the phone to change it. T-Mobile claim that it is a handset issue, but as I'd never done anything to change the settings on the phone I'm guessing its a network problem, some update or other that messed the phone up (But I'm not technical, so I could be dreaming). Also, my phone will not let me send text messages to certain contacts in my address book, i must delete their number and then enter it manually if it is to send ... all very irritating. (As I a side issue, I think its disgusting that the phone companies get away with how unrelaible and quick to break mobile phones are. I know people upgrade often, but I normally experience some minor fault within 12months).

Anyway, first off - I'd appreciate opinion as to whether the above are handset or network issues. A friend of mine on Vodafone with a T610 has also had sporadic instances of her phone not giving her a voice mail alerts.