Illustrator Color Gradients?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
How? For some god awful reason I can't do a color gradient in illustrator, I've tried and tried, I've looked at the manual, but whenever I try it goes black and white? HELP ME PLEASE!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    Haha, color gradients in Illustrator...one of the word's great mysteries.

And if I could get Illustrator to load now I would be happy to help you out, but I can't...I'll get it working again and get back to you.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    You use the Gradient palette. It's rather easy, actually.
  • Reply 3 of 14
    ast3r3xast3r3x Posts: 5,012member
    Here is my problem, it seems whenever I try to pick a color for a gradient it turns all my options to black and white. What am I doing wrong? Keep in mind I'm new to illustrator, but and thinking everything should be like photoshop
  • Reply 4 of 14
    You just have to klick-hold-n-drag the colour to one of the colour-tabs in the gradient palette.

• Reply 5 of 14
    Thanks. Well I don't know what to say, not only did that work (although oddly too much work for a gradient) I managed another way, which I couldn't get to work before and is how it should be. So...silly me I guess \
  • Reply 6 of 14
    I know you *THOUGHT* this thread was dead.

But...

I'm trying to recreate the FireFox icon (more or less), and althought it is taking me forever, I still want to finish. I have literally been working on it for at least two hours. Well I've been doing other stuff but I've been trying. I've got to a point that I have another gradient problem. Is there any way to do a gradient from a color to nothing...like in photoshop, color to transparent?

Original:

What I need to do:

Mine: (I just put the a quick blue circle, didn't do the world yet either)

So...can you do this?

Edit: I don't suppose anyone has the iTools...err .Mac logo in vector do they?
  • Reply 7 of 14
    rokrok Posts: 3,519member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ast3r3x