Mac Math Software?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Is there any good software for entering information so that it looks like you'd see math in a textbook? I mean I'd prefer a good clean look over something then something just linear...plus who knows how you'd do a square root symbol or anything.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    TeX and LaTeX

I've never used them before myself, but my math professors use them and I've heard fantastic things about the capabilities of writing in TeX/LaTeX. Very professional stuff.

Here's a guide for writing mathematical equations in LaTeX:

http://www.ams.org/tex/short-math-guide.html

By the way, for simple use in text documents, the square-root symbol on your Mac keyboard is option-v.

TeXShop is probably the best-received LaTeX editor for Mac OS X... and it's free!
  • Reply 2 of 10
    ast3r3xast3r3x Posts: 5,012member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Brad

By the way, for simple use in text documents, the square-root symbol on your Mac keyboard is option-v.

TeXShop is probably the best-received LaTeX editor for Mac OS X... and it's free!

So it is. I've always thought of it as a check mark, but upon further inspection it has a little serif on the beginning of it.
  • Reply 3 of 10
    @homenow@homenow Posts: 998member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ast3r3x

Is there any good software for entering information so that it looks like you'd see math in a textbook? I mean I'd prefer a good clean look over something then something just linear...plus who knows how you'd do a square root symbol or anything.

What is your final output, use? Is it just personal, school, or do you have a professional need to typeset math? If anything other than the last one I would suggest a TeX/LaTeX solution, or baring that I think that Microsoft word has an equation editor built in (at least they used to, I haven't looked lately).