Problem installing DBD::mysql on Panther

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I've successfully installed MySQL and the Perl DBI module, but when I try to install DBD::mysql, it keeps failing like this:

Code:

-------------------- (from the CPAN shell) ---------------------

chmod 644 mysql.bs

rm -f blib/arch/auto/DBD/mysql/mysql.bundle

LD_RUN_PATH="/usr/lib" /usr/bin/perl myld MACOSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET=10.3 cc

-bundle -undefined dynamic_lookup -L/usr/local/lib dbdimp.o mysql.o

-o blib/arch/auto/DBD/mysql/mysql.bundle -L/usr/local/mysql/lib

-lmysqlclient -lz -lm

make: *** [blib/arch/auto/DBD/mysql/mysql.bundle] Error 1

/usr/bin/make -- NOT OK

Running make test

Can't test without successful make

Running make install

make had returned bad status, install seems impossible

cpan>

----------------------------------------------------------------

I've been doing a little Perl programming for a while now, but I'm far from an expert, and I've been relying on simply using whatever was already installed on my web hosting system, where the DBI and DBD::mysql modules were pre-installed without me having to do a thing to get them there.

I don't even have a clue where to start in evaluating what this installation error is about. I'm just trying to follow instructions that I've founding Googling around for help on installing Perl packages on a Mac OS X system, and none of that help covers what to do when an installation like this fails for God knows what reason.

Just in case you're wondering, I've got the latest Developer Tools installed.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    torifiletorifile Posts: 4,024member
    I don't know how to help, but please post back here if you find out somewhere else. A while back, when I was just starting with mysql, I had been using perl for my cgi. Since I could never get past the DBD thing, I switched to php. But I'd still like to know how to do it.... Good luck.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    shetlineshetline Posts: 4,695member
    Quote: