Folder Settings .DS_Store ?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
My Hard Drive always looks like this:

I want it to stay like this:

It does this with every folder except the ones within my home folder. I am an administrator of the computer too.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    thuh freakthuh freak Posts: 2,664member
    iirc, you can fix this by removing the appropriate .DS_Store file. the only way i know how to do this is in terminal, since the finder hides "dot files". So, open up Terminal (located in /Applications/Utilities). since we are going to be working on the top (or "root") directory (based on the pic you gave, i assume you intend to alter '/'), this is going to require "superuser" (also called "root") permissions. the following command will delete the .DS_Store file:

sudo rm /.DS_Store

After you type that in terminal (and hit enter), you will be prompted for your password. As you type it, it will not echo on screen, but rest assured, it is being absorbed. Hit enter after finishing your password, and the command will proceed. I'm pretty sure that once the .DS_Store file is gone, the folder will use global settings. You should be very cautious with the command above, as incidentally adding a few erroneous keystrokes could wipe out your hard drive. I suggest you close out terminal when you are finished, lest you get curious with a bad "sudo rm" command.

If you want to fix other folders similarly, you would do this:

rm "/path/to/folder/to/change/.DS_Store"