Powerbook purchase advice...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm currently a student doing a great deal of animation and compositing work and plan to purchase a 15" powerbook within the next week or so. I've been messing with configurations of the Combo and Superdrive models to get the pricing to a reasonable level. However, I'm stuck. With either configuration I am selecting a smaller HD and a combo drive to save money, and when all is said and done there is about a $200 dollar difference between getting the 1ghz model with an airport extreme card and 256megs of RAM, and the 1.25ghz model with the airport card and 512megs. My question is, and keep in mind I'm on a budget, is it better to spend the additional $200 for the .25 speed bump additional 256megs of RAM and light-up keyboard, or would I be better off in forgoing the speed bump and light-up keyboard and spend the additional $200 on additional RAM via Crucial?

I guess I'm asking if the .25 more proc power and backlit keyboard is worth more than additional ram?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    Quote:

Originally posted by RisingZan

I'm currently a student doing a great deal of animation and compositing work and plan to purchase a 15" powerbook within the next week or so. I've been messing with configurations of the Combo and Superdrive models to get the pricing to a reasonable level. However, I'm stuck. With either configuration I am selecting a smaller HD and a combo drive to save money, and when all is said and done there is about a $200 dollar difference between getting the 1ghz model with an airport extreme card and 256megs of RAM, and the 1.25ghz model with the airport card and 512megs. My question is, and keep in mind I'm on a budget, is it better to spend the additional $200 for the .25 speed bump additional 256megs of RAM and light-up keyboard, or would I be better off in forgoing the speed bump and light-up keyboard and spend the additional $200 on additional RAM via Crucial?