G4 Powerbook or iBook?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi-- I'm a student that will be in college next year. I am trying to decide between the G4 Powerbook with 800 MHz and the ibook with 700 MHz and a 14 inch screen. Does anyone have any suggestions to which I would need? Is the G4 worth the extra money it costs? And if anyone has had experience with compatibility with PC's, has that been easy? Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 19
    eupfhoriaeupfhoria Posts: 257member
    as for PC compatability you need some third party software like dave for it to work seamlessly. Yes os X has support for PC-MAC connectivity, but it sucks.

As for the ibook vs Tibook question, it really just matters what you do. Keep in mind that the ibook is usually more sturdy
  • Reply 2 of 19
    neutrino23neutrino23 Posts: 1,562member
    My guess is that unless you are doing something intensive then the iBook is enough. Especially so considering the price difference.

PC-Mac compatibility is not so easy to comment on. In the wintel world if two PCs can't communicate people just shrug their shoulders and say that's the way life is with windows. If there is any problem connecting your Mac to a peecee some clueless people will jump all over you.

My experience is that with OS X you can connect to windows NT (and by extension, w 2000 and w xp) relatively easily. To connect to w 95 or w 98 is a little more involved. If you just need to do it once in a while you can probably get by with Samba. If this will be intensively used then something like Dave is justified.
  • Reply 3 of 19
    fischerfischer Posts: 35member
    What department are you going into, what will you use your computer for, and what do you mean by "PC compatibility?" With MS Office file formats? Connecting to PC networks? Running Windows software?

You'd help the people trying to help you by being more specific.
  • Reply 4 of 19
    bryan furybryan fury Posts: 169member
    tricky