Purchasing advice needed, 2¢ appreciated

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi Guys

OK, here's the deal: I'm a freelance web designer and use the following software apps daily: Macromedia Studio MX 2004, Adobe CS Premium, MS Office v.X, MS RDC, Address Book, iCal, iTunes, Mail, Safari, IE, Netscape. I do web design and graphic design and dabble in Logic Pro for fun. Sometimes play Halo and Q3. I have a need for a portable system as I often work away from home.

I've recently 'upgraded' from a PowerMac G4 (Dual 1.25, 1Gb, 120Gb @ 7200rpm) and iBook G3 (600, 640Mb, 15Gb @ 4200rpm) to a single-system solution consisting of a PowerBook G4 12" (1Ghz, 768Mb, 40Gb @ 4200rpm) connected to an ACD 23".

It's slow. Real slow. And I believe it's a combination of me being used to my previous dual G4 system and recently upgrading all my software apps to the latest versions. I'm finding MX 2004 noticably slower than the previous versions. Apps take ages to quit, and switching apps can be traumatising, with about 20 to 30 second delays.

I'm looking to upgrade but I'd like some of your opinions on which out of the following 3 systems that I'm considering would best suit my needs.

PowerBook 12" 1.33Ghz

1.25Gb, 60Gb @ 7200rpm

Better than what I've currently got, but I've got no idea exactly how much better this is over my current system? 167Mhz bus, twice the VRAM, obviously more RAM and much faster HD. Is this gonna greatly reduce delays and majorly improve responsiveness, or would this not be much better than what I'm currently using? Opinions??

PowerBook 15" 1.5Ghz

1.25Gb, 80Gb @ 5400rpm