SuperMac speculation

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I'm a bit old for this wishful thinking lark but it occurs to me that there could be room at the top of the tree for a $6-7K 'SuperMac'. I don't think there is any point in Apple trying to compete with your traditional server 'heavy metal' and that market may be dying anyway (did you know that at an IBM mainframe can host 1500 Linux virtual servers?) but I believe there is room in the 'creative' (3D, Film, Video, Recording Studio etc.) market place for a media server/render machine (like SGi traditionally made). the reason I am thinking this is because it is precisely the sort of machine I would buy in a shot for my own humble studio

Speculative specs. as follows (I'm no expert so be gentle)

Squared-off Quicksilver enclosure for desktop or rack mounting.

4 x 1.6GHz G5's (OSX 10 can handle four can't it?)

4 x 5 inch internal drive mounts + ATA 133

2 x AGP slots (for dual ADC displays)

4 x PCI slots

4 x memory slots (for 2Gig DDRAM)

2 x independent Firewire 800 busses (for Raid arrays up to uncompressed HiDef - 150Mb/s)

2 x USB2 busses (sockets front and back)

4 x 1000 Ethernet connectors

Slot load Superdrive.

This could be made now (or very shortly), waddya think?

Vince.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    you can alway dream
  • Reply 2 of 13
    just to get every bit of speed I could out of it I would put 4 x 72GB SCSI 160 drives (Ultra3) in it and either RAID them or Stripe them so it writes data to all 4 drives at the same time for Max throughput...

but that would probably bump the price of your system up to around 10-11 grand
  • Reply 3 of 13
    leonisleonis Posts: 3,427member
    [quote]Originally posted by powerdoc:

<strong>you can alway dream </strong><hr></blockquote>

I like that
  • Reply 4 of 13
    emaneman Posts: 7,204member
    [quote]Originally posted by powerdoc:

<strong>you can alway dream </strong><hr></blockquote>