Holdout on G4 Laptop for software updates

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am a student that wants to get the G4 laptop for the upcoming school year and this summer. I dont think the laptop will be updated in any serious fashion before the school year gets fully underway at the earliest, so I am not to worried about being technologically behind as soon as I get my laptop. But I am curious if peoplle think I should wait to get a laptop until after the convention at the end of the month to see if they update ilife or offer free upgrades to tiger if you buy a laptop after they annouce it.

Any ideas?

thanks,

Ben

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    jambojambo Posts: 3,036member
    Moving to General Discussion as this is purchasing advice.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    ipodandimacipodandimac Posts: 3,273member
    Quote:

Originally posted by bclapp

I am a student that wants to get the G4 laptop for the upcoming school year and this summer. I dont think the laptop will be updated in any serious fashion before the school year gets fully underway at the earliest, so I am not to worried about being technologically behind as soon as I get my laptop. But I am curious if peoplle think I should wait to get a laptop until after the convention at the end of the month to see if they update ilife or offer free upgrades to tiger if you buy a laptop after they annouce it.

Any ideas?

thanks,

Ben

tiger wont be out until october or november. buy now. besides, you might be able to get tiger for 50 bucks through your university. i seriously doubt iLife will be updated, and if it is, they will be free updates, not a "4.5" that costs extra.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    pbg4 dudepbg4 dude Posts: 1,611member
    So far all of the iLife updates have been free downloads. Based on the past few years, the components of what is now called iLife have received their major updates at MWSF. I don't think you'll see a paid upgrade before then.