My first eviction!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Well I guess there is a first time for everything. I've been landlording for six years now and a little over a week ago, I began my first eviction.

Anyone who doesn't think tenants have any rights has obviously never attempt an eviction or even looked much at the process. It will take about a month to complete and any mistake with regard to serving, process, unknown occupants, anything can start the whole process over.

It will be interesting.

Nick

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    Try being a landlord in NYC. I know a guy who has been trying to get a deadbeat tenant out for over two years. The landlord in question is a good guy. He thinks of his building as a community and has helped a lot of people get established in the city over the years (including the tenant in question). The tenant has gone as long as 7 months without paying any rent and is, as far as I know, 13 months in arrears thanks to all the rent checks he has bounced. Even after the tenant punched the landlord in the face and called him a "moneygrubbing fucking kike" (the landlord got a restraining order after that episode) the guy still lives in his building.

On the other hand, being a tenant in NYC is often no picnic either. The number of scumbag landlord stories I've heard must be twenty times as long as the number of scumbag tenants.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    scottscott Posts: 7,431member
    My mother was a property manager for years. Every once in a while she had to go to court for an eviction. Her company had full time lawyers to deal with this stuff but she was always very nervous about going to court.

In Chicago we had a budding rap star in our building. Everyone in the building was calling the landlord to complain. The landlord said he's talk to him but couldn't kick him out. It was the dead of winter and the courts just wont sign an eviction notice in the dead of winter.
  • Reply 3 of 12