A Great Companion to your MAC! - Digital Media Player

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi All,

Firstly, please just stay with me as I've recently started to be covnerted from the PC base of computing to the MAC side of the world!

Anyhow, I was reading this article from another website some months ago on a Digital Media Player (VIRTUOSO MC-500)by some company that I havent really heard much about called Neuston.

www.neuston.com

http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/archives/...04.html#S17337

I originally bought to use in conjunction with my IBM though after buying a MAC, Ive come to realise how much easier it is from the MAC than the PC!

Essentially, its a PC to television device that takes computer data from a computer, and then transfers the compressed digital data (Mpeg-1/2/4, mp3, jpg, gif, tiff,) encoded through wired or wireless LAN, decodes the information and puts it on your television screen. Pretty neat stuff.

Ive been using this product for several months now and its pretty cool. To be honest, I didnt really feel the dying need for a box like this though I thought it'd be nice to try it out as I love trying new tech toys (though ive bought some pretty bad ones too!) and I'd highly recommend something like this!

BUT, be aware that Neuston isnt the only coming making these sort of devices for the Mac World. Theres also another company called Elgato that makes a range of products such as these. The reason why I dont know as much is because I dont have one as it is MAC only, while the Neuston product is both PC and MAC capable. Go check it out though.

www.elgato.com

Ive read some material on this one to but I'm not keen to comment as I havent learnt enough in detail to comment. Can anyone help out here? If anyone has an Elgato Eye Home.