Gaming

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
okay, I got my first Mac yesterday and I'm a total noob but I love this machine. Now I have a problem, and I know it IS really simple and stupid, but I have to ask.

First. If I have a game on a CD, how can I run *.exe? this is a f...ing stupid question, but I just don't know...

Second. If I have a game as a *.bin and *.cue how can I launch it? With pc I would use Daemon Tools, but I have not found it for mac...

It sucks to be noob, but sometimes you just don't know basic things

And if you have some basic tips for noob, just say it

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    pbg4 dudepbg4 dude Posts: 1,611member
    Most Mac executable files don't end in .exe . If you popped in a dual format CD (like CDs from Blizzard) two CD icons should appear on the desktop. If the first looks like it has PC files with .exe extensions & such, double click on the other CD icon and that should have the Mac files.

As far as .bin & .cue files go, check out www.versiontracker.com & search on those terms to find the programs you need to work with these CD image files.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    uiucuiuc Posts: 8member
    I'm a noob.. but I don't think you can easily run PC games on Mac. The game has to support OpenGL (is that right?. I don't have any Mac.. so I'm not sure.. though I'm interested in purchasing PB. I somehow know this stuff.. because my high school is geared up with Apple. I'm in college now )

If the game only supports DirectX, then it won't run on Apple.

I know that Warcraft III supports both.

You should start purchasing Mac versioned games.

As far as Daemon tool is concerned, I don't believe there is anything (I probably be wrong). Also, considering that OpenGL and Direct X issue, you won't be able to run it anyway.

ps. considering the nature of daemon, the word "pirate" comes to my mind Also, it's somewhat understandable if you used to own ultraslim notebook which doesn't have intergrated optical drive
  • Reply 3 of 12