Pasting Word text into iChat windows... How?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Hi everyone. I've got a bothersome problem here that I can't find the answer to. I write for a living and I often IM with my editors via iChat. Oftentimes, I try to copy and paste text from Word into my IM window. I only paste small blocks of text... nothing more than a paragraph or so. But every time I paste text from Word into iChat, iChat thinks the text is a picture. Hitting "Enter" places a tiny black square, IIRC, in place of the actual text, and my editor never sees it.

Now, here's the interesting thing. If I fire up TextEdit and paste the Word text into a document there, then copy the text that I just pasted into TextEdit and paste it into the iChat window, the text appears fine. I don't even have to save the TextEdit file. So, what's going on here? Is there any way I can get Word text to paste into iChat windows, or am I forced to go through TextEdit?

Thanks ahead of time for your responses.

Brian Perry

Owner, Infernal Funhouse Productions

www.infernalfunhouse.com

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    Quote:

Originally posted by Gamrin

Hi everyone. I've got a bothersome problem here that I can't find the answer to. I write for a living and I often IM with my editors via iChat. Oftentimes, I try to copy and paste text from Word into my IM window. I only paste small blocks of text... nothing more than a paragraph or so. But every time I paste text from Word into iChat, iChat thinks the text is a picture. Hitting "Enter" places a tiny black square, IIRC, in place of the actual text, and my editor never sees it.