soundforge mac equivalent?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
hi all,

thinking of making the switch to mac soon, mostly for audio work, but was very disappointed to discover that sony/sonicfoundry soundforge is pc only. this is an excellent application that i've been using for over 5 years and it will be hard to move to another.

it is a digital audio editing package, what are the leading mac equivalents and is anyone able to make direct comparisons?

thanking you!

j

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    Don't worry, there are plenty of alternatives. I have been working in studios since 1986, and have seen the Mac platform in every major studio I have been in. What this means is that in the audio software world, you're pretty much covered in the Mac department. You have also arrived at a golden time in digital audio. I was just at MWSF and sat in on Dave Mash's tutorial on Advanced Music production on a Mac. He was talking about what I tell people as well, we live in the age of "the incredible shrinking studio". There is soooo much stuff out there, and get this, most of it really works now!

In response to your question, Peak is widely used for two track editing on the Mac. You should also go to Apple's OS X audio downloads and look around. There are a ton of way cool apps that are either free or cheap. And there are downloadable demos of most of the major apps.

Good luck!
  • Reply 2 of 7
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,423member
    http://www.i3net.it/Products/dspQuattro

Check out DSP Quattro. It's affordable and gaining in power and features.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    ah yes, peak, i used that in my one and only period of time spent in a "mac" studio. that's definitely one to consider.

i know what you mean about the incredible shrinking studio! fantastic what you can do now! i do crave a real mixing desk tho
  • Reply 4 of 7