Apple newb with some questions

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi im planning to pick up a new desktop or laptop (leaning towards a powerbook) in the near future. I have never owned a mac before, so im not that all familiar with some of its architecture. By nature im an accountant, however photography has been a hobby of mine, to the point where i can possibly call myself a serious amateur. I would like to potentially start up a side business of (hopefully) selling my prints via the web. Apple is well regarded by those who work in digital media, so its where i look to first in regards to hardware. The major programs i intend on running are:

Photoshop CS

Quickbooks (or similar accounting program)

MS Office

That being said, my questions in regards to apple are the following:

1) How does a G4 and G5 processor compare to an intel or AMD chip? For example is the G4 the "equivalent" of a 3mhz pentium and the G5 similar to a AMD64?

2) What would you say is the typical "lifespan" of an imac, powerbook, etc.? Meaning how long do you think upgradeing to a new mac will be necessary even after some minor tweaking (storage, ram, video card, etc.). The reason i ask is that im trying to figure out which will be the better value for me, grabbing a G5 powerbook upon release, or picking a G4 powerbook when the G5 releases (and taking advantage of a potential price cut).

Its about 1:15 am here, im sure i have more questions but i think im about to pass out here, LOL.

Thanks in advance for your posts, and i look forward to contributing to your community.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    wjmoorewjmoore Posts: 210member