Purchased first Mac at 26

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello everyone...

After getting more and more upset with the inconsistency of my PC along with the browser (IE or Firefox) crashing daily, I purchased a used PowerMac and have decided to "switch" and give Apple a shot.

I picked up a PowerMac G4 533mhz with 256mb RAM, 60GB and the stock 16MB ATI video. It also is running OS9.

I plan to familiarize myself with the machine on OS9 for now and then upgrade to 'Tiger' once it is released. Will my new-to-me system handle the OS upgrade? I imagine I'll need more RAM...

Also, since I'm new to Macs, what would my G4 533mhz translate to (roughly) in PC (Pentium/AMD) land?

Any other advice you can give a new Apple user is apprecaited! Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    533 G4 is roughly equivalent to a 800MHz P3, I think. As for Tiger, well, your video card isn't going to cut it, and I don't know how much you can upgrade that aspect.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    amorphamorph Posts: 7,112member
    What Placebo means by "isn't going to cut it" is that the interface work will be done entirely by the CPU. OS X offloads as much work as it can to the GPU.

Tiger (the next release of OS X) itself will run fine on your machine, minus a certain amount of eye candy. But functionally it'll be there.

You might want to look on eBay for at least a 32MB video card, though. At least a RADEON or GeForce2MX. Those are the lowest-end cards that OS X uses for some of its drawing work. I run OS X on a 450MHz G4 with a 32MB RADEON card, and I have no complaints.

• Reply 3 of 12
    You should be able to upgrade to at-least the ATI 9200 if not the 9800...
  • Reply 4 of 12
    Thanks, guys. My G4 should arrive on Thursday. One question, though...I'm not sure if it's a G4 'Yikes' or a G4 'Sawtooth'. I'd assume, since it's a 533 that it's a 'Sawtooth' with AGP, but you never know.