Keyboard mapping in MacOS-X 10.3

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Hi there,

I am an apple newbie and received my mac mini two days ago.

I got a problem with the keyboard mapping. It is not detected correctly, and during the setup process I haven't been asked about that.

Since I live in Germany, I have a standard latin-de keyboard.

The odd thing is, that it doesn't fit with the american keyboard mapping either, since "z" and "y" are mapped correctly, as well as "ä", "ü" and "ö".

Other things are wrong, like "@" or "\\".

Any hints?

thx!

David

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Incoming

Hi there,

I am an apple newbie and received my mac mini two days ago.

I got a problem with the keyboard mapping. It is not detected correctly, and during the setup process I haven't been asked about that.

Since I live in Germany, I have a standard latin-de keyboard.

The odd thing is, that it doesn't fit with the american keyboard mapping either, since "z" and "y" are mapped correctly, as well as "ä", "ü" and "ö".

Any hints?

thx!

David

Launch System Preferences. Open the International preferences pane. Click the Input Menu tab. Select the keyboard that you want.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    Quote:

Originally posted by Mr. Me

Launch System Preferences. Open the International preferences pane. Click the Input Menu tab. Select the keyboard that you want.

Hi!

Already done that. The appropriate keyboard (latin-de) was already selected.

I talked to a friend of mine, who has an ibook, and she said, the keys are mapped like they should be on an apple keyboard, not a standard pc one.

Where can I fix that?

thx!

David
  • Reply 3 of 5
    amoryaamorya Posts: 1,103member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Incoming

It may just be a difference in Apple's layouts. I know over here, PCs have the @ above the single quote, but Macs have the @ above the 2.
  • Reply 4 of 5
    dfilerdfiler Posts: 3,420member