Good article on the MacOSX dock.

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
http://www.asktog.com/columns/044top10docksucks.html

This might be an old article, but since I'm an Interaction Designer as well, AND since I work with both Mac and PC, I find it a very nice read.

Personally, I think the Windows task bar is a more productive, powerful tool compared to the dock. Although the Dock breaths Apple's philisophy (less is more), I think the Dock is in fact "less is less".

The bad thinks from the Windows taskbar:

- personalised menu's (optional, on by default.

items get hidden/shown based on the frequency of use.

Causes the taskbar to look different everytime, very

disorienting.

- Taskbar auto-hide/show, same problem as Dock, I find

it annoying and is easily triggered by accident.

I am curious about your opinion on the Dock VS taskbar.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    I very rarely have to use windows so I can't comment on the comparison but I can say that I think the dock is excellent.

Most of the complaints I've heard levelled at it are non issues for me, I have always got at least 45 items there on a permanent basis and very often find myself working with maybe another 20 open documents, some in the dock and some on the desktop.

I've never found it particularly intrusive and I have no problems finding what I'm looking for, even when it's really full! I do keep the dock very small and only have a slight magnification set, really it hardly takes any space at all.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    gongon Posts: 2,437member
    There are some things I appreciate about the Dock.