File renaming

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Hi all,

right firstly, i've been using OSX for about 5 months now and so far havn't had any /real/ problems, everything i've needed to get done i've been able to do. Except one thing, why oh why, when i copy .mp3 files from my server do the names get trimmed down? The Windows server i use doesn't have problems with long filenames, hell my linux laptop doesnt even do this.. it really is getting beyond a joke espically considering the amount of .mp3 files i move around like this.

This is an example of what it is doing to my files

05-50_~2.MP3

I know there are scripts out there that will rename the files from the id3 tags but this really isn't on, i mean im constantly having to do it and some of the files i move around don't have id3 tags which leaves me with .mp3 files that i have to sort through manually and dont know what they are without listening to them, a lot of the time i end up deleting them because i dont know the exact track name.

Now is there a way to stop the system doing this? t really is getting on my nerves.

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    maccrazymaccrazy Posts: 2,658member
    Mac OS X supports 256 characters in file names with almost all characters. MS-DOS format does not, however.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    So why can't i copy files off my Windows XP Professional box without it changing the names, it is changing them when it is copying the files over so the fact that windows xp supports long file names shouldnt really come in to it. This is an OSX problem because like i said, my linux laptop can copy files with no problems whatsoever.
  • Reply 3 of 13
    maccrazymaccrazy Posts: 2,658member
    Quote:

Originally posted by AndrewLondon