Programming for Windows

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Ok All,

I am new here so go easy on me. I am a VB/ASP/Access programmer and have been in love with the macs for years. My wife has an Imac G5 and I desperately want a PB 17". Well Mac and VB/ASP/Access don't play well together. Is there any way I can have my cake and eat it too? Virtual PC is just way to slow to develop on. I am not real fond (probably not real educated) of filemaker and not many people that I know (clients) have it on there computers. So my goal is to write it on the mac and compile it for the pc. I have read about Realbasic but I have not seen where it has been used in business apps. Please help.

Thanks in Advance

Future Mac Owner

Thom

KC Mo.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:

Originally posted by no1biscuit

Ok All,

I am new here so go easy on me. I am a VB/ASP/Access programmer and have been in love with the macs for years. My wife has an Imac G5 and I desperately want a PB 17". Well Mac and VB/ASP/Access don't play well together. Is there any way I can have my cake and eat it too? Virtual PC is just way to slow to develop on. I am not real fond (probably not real educated) of filemaker and not many people that I know (clients) have it on there computers. So my goal is to write it on the mac and compile it for the pc. I have read about Realbasic but I have not seen where it has been used in business apps. Please help.

Thanks in Advance

Future Mac Owner

Thom

KC Mo.

If you insist on using Access, you will have to stick with Windows. Acccess is Windows-only. However, you can use REALBasic to develop VB-compatible and Java apps on the Mac. Suffice it to say you can deploy your VB apps on Windows and your Java apps anywhere.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    no1biscuitno1biscuit Posts: 12member