Need Help~! possible to make hdd partition without formatting hdd??!!

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
hi everyone

I really need your help here...

I was looking for a way to make partitions without formatting or losing datas in the hard drive...

and I ended up finding no way... I know... I'm a newbie with mac n it happens all the time...

can anybody help me out of this?? if there's a way, please guide me through how to make partitions without losing datas in existing hard drive...

if there's no way, please reply me "no way!!"

thanks for help around here everytime n really appreciated...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    dobbydobby Posts: 797member
    Sorry, but you cannot partition without formatting the disk and losing the data that was on it.

Dobby.
  • Reply 2 of 10
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    Yes you can. I think Micromat makes a tool to do that. I did it to make a emergency partition if something should to my main drive.

Of course, you should backup your documents just in case.

EDIT: LINKY 8)
  • Reply 3 of 10
    natopgunnatopgun Posts: 26member
    hi guys.. thanks for reply

but as you see, I'm stil confused. one saying can't while another saying can..

I really apprecite those your help above, but can you please tell me more about micromat??? is it freeware??

thanks guys. really apprecite it.
  • Reply 4 of 10
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    Micromat is a company that offers one of the best hard drive repair utilities called Tech Tool Pro. (Another good one is Diskwarrior) I'd say they are a overall reliable company and their products are pretty stable. I have had only one or two problems before but TTP has fixed lots more. It is not a free program (TTP ran me about $60 with a Macworld special). You can see for yourself HERE. I feel like I got my money's worth out of it.

I've never used the program you want. (I never needed to) I subscribe to the "Big files, Big disk" ideology.
  • Reply 5 of 10
    thanks. Ebby